Life this past week

It has been a busy time this past week.  My Dad arrived from Majuro on Wednesday night. We had wind storms again Thursday evening/night.  I didn’t work Friday because our office building had no electricity, so Dad, Dodo and I ran around without a purpose and into some funky weather.  Saturday, Dodo flew his cross-country solo.  And Sunday, we drove around with a purpose.

This is definitely a picture filled post.  So enjoy the photojournalism…

Friday, Dad and I took Dodo to the airport because we thought he was going to be able to do his cross-country solo that day.  We thought we would drop him off and then run around and come back when he landed so we could get a pic.  Unfortunately, the weather turned crazy about 3 times while he was trying to do his flight plan.  So, instead we looked at what he may be doing in the future…

Flying this –

This helicopter is used for transport and fire-fighting.  It is GINORMOUS and totally cool.

And here is back to reality…

This is what he is flying right now.  Still totally cool but not so ginormous… 

This next one is of Dodo and I again by the GINORMOUS and totally cool helicopter, followed by my Dad and I and the GINORMOUS and totally cool helicopter:

This is the underbelly of the GINORMOUS and totall cool helicopter…well, the underbelly of the back of the thing…

Do you notice how it blocks all sunlight?

That is one big helicopter.

We stuck around the airport a bit and then headed out with Dodo once we knew he wasn’t flying that day.  We thought we would go to the museum and ended up driving around a little and running into some crazy weather…

First it was sleet…

Then it was snow…it is a little hard to see but the end of the tunnel was crazy looking.  It was completely white out there….and by the way the sleet was right before we went into the tunnel…the snow right after the tunnel…

 We decided to head home and make some chowder and watch movies and enjoy the cold weather and some relaxing. 

Then…

it was sunny. 

We decided to go home anyway.

It was crazy weather.  KC folks think their weather changes fast…they have nothing on Portland.  Sleat, snow and warm sunny weather all happened within 5 minutes and less than 2 miles of driving. 

Our Saturday was spent with me working and Dodo flying Cross-Country….SOLO!

I was working but headed out for a little bit so I could get a picture of him when he came in.  Very big smiles from all…

I am holding up the map he used to navigate…Yes, you may call him THE NAVIGATOR from now on…and Jay – you can call him a pilot now and Dodo won’t argue…

After all of the excitement on Saturday, we decided that we were going to sleep in on Sunday.  Which we definitely did.  After everyone was up we headed out for breakfast and to a very cool area in NW Portland.  Very cool shops and bars and places to eat.  

This is one of the things you may see there…

 

A real, live marionette…

And then of me driving…I am not a marionette although sometimes Dodo thinks that I may become one if he tells me where to go often enough…

 

And still driving…

I look totally cool by the way…I rock…woo hoo…

After breakfast we decided to drive around our future neighborhood.  This is much like looking at the future helicopter that Dodo might be flying, albeit a bit further of a reach…

This is one house we may be looking at, although I am afraid that the plumbing might be a bit old and the mold is probably growing rampant and it doesn’t sit quite high enough for us and probably needs more windows…but we haven’t crossed it off the list quite yet…

We are looking for a view of something to this effect…of course without this tree and house in the way…

So that is why we finally decided on this one.  Great views above everything, decks, lots of windows and will be great for the zip-line we must install because seriously, how am I going to get down that driveway to go grocery shopping if it snows?  Which reminds me, we will have to put in a gondola for the way back up…

This will be something like the view we will have from this house, although we will not see this fence, or the grass, or the trees, and the building will be just a speck…

In all seriousness…

this is the view from our deck…or would you call it a look-out perch?  I definitely see a zip-line in our future as well as one of these homes…

See, they are anticipating our arrival…It will only be a few more years guys…Just build slow…we’re talking to a realtor as I type…

And now folks, I am afraid I must come back to reality and bring all of you with me…Remember, this is only for a short while…until the meds kick in…

ooohhhh…medication….

Just kidding.  This is me and the Maggie B chillin’. 

We are not on drugs.

We are on Christmas Cheer…

Including the dog…

Caption:

‘This is what I think of Christmas…blllaaahhh’

Really, she was having a lot of fun….

She’s definitely a good sport about the whole thing.  She knows I was just trying to make our humble home festive for the holidays.

She knows I spent hours decorating our tree…

And hanging (in chronological order starting in 1977 and going until 1993) my ornaments that my Grandmother made me….

All in anticipation of my Mom and Yaya arriving on Christmas Eve…

To enjoy our house that is just so stellar that it blinds you with its radiance…

I know you all are definitely confused.  Especially because the pictures prior to this last one had a very small Christmas tree, small fireplace, etc. shown.  Because we live in such a stellar house, I must use a wide-angle lense in order to capture everything and when using said wide-angle lense, it shrinks everything down…

So, do not be deceived by the size of our tree and the snowmen beside it and the wash stand it sits on…

It is a really big wash stand.

Explore posts in the same categories: Flying Dodo, Friends & Family, Portland

3 Comments on “Life this past week”

  1. sa rah Says:

    gosh i miss you and your holiday cheer. seriously, it just isn’t the same without you guys this year.
    i have a little piece of KC waiting on the kitchen counter to be shipped to you. I don’t know if it will arrive by christmas, but i’ll try!
    LOVE the photos.

  2. Tea` Says:

    Man! We miss you guys too! Your place looks so cheery & you have a FIREPLACE! Want any pictures of the Plaza? =) Merry Christmas you three, give Mom & Yaya big hugs!

  3. javagirl Says:

    You guys are great. I am definitely missing all of you and some chocolate martini’s from Pierponts…where’s my spoon?
    I would of course love pics of the Plaza! I have the book that Jay and Sa Rah gave us sitting on the washstand by the front door. Our little homage to KC. It now has x-mas decorations on it but as soo as the holiday is over – KC homage comes back! Love ya.


Leave a Reply

