A New Leaf…

Is turning over next Tuesday…

Tomorrow is my last day at my current job…and I am grateful to be moving on to bigger and better things.  Of course I don’t want to say too many things on this particular post about the current and almost over job – so, all I will say is that I can’t wait until Tuesday!  Mo money, mo benefits, mo experience!!!

So – tonight was my second sweep rowing class.  Much better than our first class…I was convinced that I was not going to be able to get in and out of that itty bitty frickin long ass boat.  Tuesday didn’t go to well but tonight I rocked.  My instructor said I was really picking all of this up quite quickly and I was really good at it – I told him I was a natural athlete…later I told Dodo that the only seat that I wanted was the one closest to the coxain because everyone has to follow my lead.  Dodo agreed that that would probably be the best place for me as well.  I am trying to get him to fly one evening over the river and take pictures of us from the air…that might end up being a really funny situation…”hey look everyone, there is my husband” SPLASH as we all go overboard.  I’m telling you – these boats are tippy…everyone at home – take a 2×4 piece of wood, stick it your bathtub and sit on it…see if you can stay afloat.  I dare you.

It is has been nice getting out there and doing something and besides it has been great weather as well.  It is pretty cool to be driving to downtown and see Mt. Hood to the right and Mt. St. Helens to the left as you are driving over the river.  And boy, do Portlanders use this river.  I’ve never seen so much activity at a waterfront before.  There is a bike, running/walking trail all along the river and it is ALWAYS packed full of people.  The dock that we launch from is also pretty busy with the Dragon Boats (that are getting ready for a competition at the Rose Festival in a couple of weeks) as well as a lot of kayakers, canoe-ers, and then of course us – the sweep rowers who have no clue as to what they are doing and just all hope to God that we don’t fall in the river as we are setting the boat down on the VERY low dock…All in all it is going to be a pretty cool experience.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll meet some pretty cool people in the process as well.

Okay – I must go to bed.  I am tired and I need to be ready tomorrow to finish turning over all of my projects to the next poor soul…then it is time to CELEBRATE!!! 

One last note though…It has been quite weird giving notice and the fact that EVERYONE is tremendously excited for me and are extremely glad that I found something else…either they all hate me or they are glad that someone cut the ties and is running toward freedom…I am going to assume that it is the latter. 

Good Night, sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A New Leaf…”

  1. Juliaxxx Says:

    Welcome back JavaGrl

  2. boomboom Says:

    oh my gosh – CONGRATULATIONS! I’m soooo freaking happy for you right now! I want to hear all about the new gig. Love you! Miss you!


Leave a Reply

