Month 3

My Dearest LiDo,

You are 3 months old today and you are right in the midst of your first cold.  You are still a pretty happy baby and smiling most of the time while coughing up a lung.  The past couple of days have been rougher for you and you are coughing all the time so now when you cry you sound like you been pulling all-nighters and smoking too much…it is a pathetic horrible sound and I feel so bad for you. 

You have changed so much in the past month.  I can’t believe the things you are doing.  You have been grabbing and batting at toys for the past few weeks.  You smile and grin every time your Daddy or I walk in the room.  You have learned to roll over from your front to your back and I swear you were about to roll from back to front if you could just get that arm out of the way. 

Your giggle.  It is amazing.  You are just on the brink of a full out belly laugh and it can’t be any cuter or lovelier.  You love to pet MaggieB and Panda has decided that you are okay and you’ll be sticking around so she has let you pet her.  I imagine it is more because she doesn’t get much from us anymore. 

You have been out in the snow – albeit to a Dr.’s appointment but nonetheless you were out in it.  Quite a snow it is here in Portland.  Highways have been shut down and chains required on your tires – us midwesterners think the whole thing is funny…

Your first Christmas is coming.  My first Christmas with you is coming.  It still seems like yesterday that you arrived but feels like you’ve always been a part of us.  There are things that we are still getting used to like planning for things – having to think about getting a babysitter for you.  We also have come to realize that we need a night out ourselves with friends.  We have been so focused on you and getting the hang of all of this that we need to remember that we are not only parents to you but lovers to each other.  It is hard my darling little child – the balance of work, parenting and a relationship all the while trying to keep it healthy and happy and full of laughter.  It is all worth it though.  It opens up a whole new dimension that is hard to describe. 

Right now I hear you cry because you don’t feel good…it is hard to keep typing but I know you need to have your Daddy take care of you a bit too. 

You are just a wonderful child and growing way too fast.  I keep looking at pictures of you when you were first born thinking how amazing it all is.  How quickly you have shown your personality.  You are going to be a great and fun little kid.  Right now though, please stay my wonderful baby for a little longer.

The best thing that you have started doing over the past few days of not feeling good is that you want to be held on my shoulder and you nuzzle your little face in my neck and wrap your little arms around me and stick your fingers up into my neck.  Sometime you grab my hair but it is the nuzzling that I love so much and feeling your body relax as you get closer and closer to me.  These moments I love – even though you don’t feel very good.

When you smile your entire face lights up – and lights up my entire life.

I love you my dear little boy.  Happy 3 month Birthday.

Love,

Your Mom

pict0491

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Month 3”

  1. Ellen Says:

    What a sweet letter! You are such a great mommy and Lido is a doll!

  2. Janice Says:

    Love this pic!! Look at his big blue eyes!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

